About Sangha

The Navi Mumbai Kannada Sangha came into existence in the year 1978 with handful of enthusiastic Kannadigas who made Navi Mumbai their home. The idea took its origin in the market place of sector 1, in Vashi. Gradually the members increased due to the tremendous efforts of those few who gave birth to the Sangha. In the course of time we acquired plot from CIDCO in the central location and constructed the auditorium, library etc. step by step. Initially the mode of contact with members was a cyclostyled monthly news letter distributed by our own members, sector wise.

Our Sangha regularly publishes a monthly magazine, highlighting the various activities of the Sangha as well as many other information useful for its readers like matrimonial, placement services, availability of houses for sale/rent etc. and to give an opportunity for their hidden literary talents to blossom. The magazine has been registered with the Registrar of Newspapers, Delhi and postal authorities in Navi Mumbai. From this year a fund has been created in memory of late Smt. Veena Jois to give prizes to best contribution to the magazine on yearly basis.

The Sangha celebrated the Silver Jubilee in November 2003 with a grand function with Shri Suresh Shetty Minister of State for Medical Education, Govt. of Maharashtra as the Chief Guest. The well known Kannada drama “Court Marshal” directed by Shri Sadanand Suvarna was staged on this occasion. The Sangha actively participated in the Suvarna Karnatakotsav organized by the Govt. of Karnataka, in February 2008. Recently the Sangha joined hands with Karnataka Sangha, Mumbai to celebrate their Platinum Jubilee year in Navi Mumbai.

The Sangha has a membership of over 700 families at present and is growing fast, as Navi Mumbai is a newly developing metropolis. The Sangha has plans to diversify its activities, with the support and encouragement from its members and well wishers so that ancient traditions, literature and culture of Karnataka survives and flourishes in this cosmopolitan city of Navi Mumbai.

Society Reg.No. MAH/888/Thane.dt.14.9.81
Thrust Reg.No. F-802[Thane]15.10.81

Navi Mumbai Kannada sangha Managing Committee-2021-2023

  • Shri. B. H. Katti – Chairman
  • Shri. Gopal. Y. Shetty – President
  • Shri. Madhsudan T. R. – Vice President
  • Shri. Jayaram Shetty – Vice President
  • Shri. Jagadish D. Rai – Gen Secretary
  • Shri. Dinesh Uparna – Vice President
  • Smt. Jyoti Prasad – Vice President
  • Shri. Balakrishna Shetty A. – Jt. Secretary
  • Shri. Anil Kumar Hegde – Treasurer

Committee Members:

  • Shri. Gopi rao
  • Smt. Sujata Rao
  • Smt. Savita Nayak
  • Shri. Raghu Moolya
  • Shri. Y. Y. Kebhavi
  • Shri. V. K. Suvarna
  • Shri. Prabhakar Devadiga
  • Smt. Shrikanti Chingunde
  • Shri. Shekhar Moolya
  • Shri. N.G. Poojary
  • Shri. Bhoja Devadiga

E-mail (for office use only)